

## 2025 Weekend Racing

### Notice of Race

The Fort Worth Boat Club as the Organizing Authority (OA) cordially invites you to the 2025 Weekend Series comprising the Roadie, Rolling Time, Hub Isaacks, Paki and Blue Moon on beautiful Eagle Mountain Lake.

#### 1. Rules

1.1. The series will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing 2025 - 2028, the class rules of the applicable one-design classes, and the FWBC Performance Handicap Racing Fleet (PHRF) Rules and Regulations. J22 FWBC Fleet Rules will also apply for the use of the club owned J22 fleet.

#### 2. Eligibility & Entry

- 2.1. All series are open to all keelboats with a valid PHRF rating on file with the FWBC Office.
- 2.2. Eligible boats may register for the series Fort Worth Boat Club website at https://www.fortworthboatclub.com/club-racing

#### 3. Classification

- 3.1. Spinnaker Classes are allowed to use spinnakers while racing.
- 3.2. Genoa Classes shall not use spinnakers of any kind while racing.
- 3.3. One-design boats participating under class rules will be scored as a fleet, with a minimum of 3 boats registered as an annual or series fee.
- 3.4. Fleet assignments are defined in the Sailing Instructions for PHRF ratings.

#### 4. Fees

- 4.1. The entry fees for the Weekend Racing Series will be:
  - 4.1.1. Annual Pass for All Series \$225.00 Automatically entered for each series.
  - 4.1.2. Series Pass entered for a series will be \$50.00
- 4.2. Entry fees will be charged to the account of the registered skipper/owner.
- 4.3. Entry fees are non-refundable.

#### 5. Schedule

- 5.1. The scheduled race days and number of races are listed in Appendix A
- 5.2. The first warning signal will be at 2.00 p.m. for the Roadie, PAKI and Blue Moon Series. The Rolling Time series the first warning signal will be at 10.00 a.m
- 5.3. A Competitor's Briefing will be held in the FWBC Bar one hour prior to the first warning signal of the first race of the series.

- 5.4. The awards for a series will be presented after the last scheduled race of the following series.
- 5.5. The PRO assignments are listed in Appendix A, attached to this document.

#### 6. Sailing Instructions

6.1. The Sailing Instructions are based on Appendix S Standard Sailing Instructions as defined in the RRS 2025 - 2028 with local amendments, these are published on <u>https://</u>www.fortworthboatclub.com/club-racing.

#### 7. The Courses

- 7.1. The courses to be sailed will be windward-leeward, triangle, olympic, or combinations thereof.
- 7.2. The course to be sailed will be indicated by the Race Committee prior to the warning signal.

#### 8. Scoring

- 8.1. One race is required to be completed to constitute a series.
- 8.2. When five races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst scores.
- 8.3. When six races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her 2 worst scores.
- 8.4. When 10 races have been completed, a boat's series scores will be the total of her race scores excluding her 4 worst scores.
- 8.5. When 12 races have been completed, a boat's series scores will be the total of her races scores excluding her 6 worst scores.

#### 9. Radio Communications

- 9.1. Except in an emergency, a boat that is racing shall not make voice or data transmissions and shall not receive voice or data communication that is not available to all boats.
- 9.2. Communications from the race committee or signal boat will channel 68.

#### 10. Prizes

- 10.1.It is a goal of the Race Committee to encourage consistent race participation in addition to performance. As such, prizes will only be awarded to boats that participate in at least 60% of the completed races in a series.
- 10.2. Prizes will be awarded at the discretion of the Race Committee based on participation levels.
- 10.3. The Race Committee may, at its discretion, consolidate prize-giving for competitors who place in multiple fleets in a series simultaneously.

#### **11. Disclaimer of Liability**

11.1. Sailing is an activity with inherent risks of damage and injury. Competitors in this event participate entirely at their own risk – see RRS 3, DECISION TO RACE. The race organizers (Fort Worth Boat Club (FWBC) race committee, protest committee, sponsors, or any other organization or official) will not be responsible for damage to any boat or other property or the injury to any competitor, including death, sustained as a result of participation in this event. By participating in this event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

#### **12. Insurance**

12.1. Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third party liability insurance with a minimum cover of \$500,000.00 per incident.

#### **13. Sustainability Statement**

13.1 This is a Clean Regatta, all competitors are strongly encouraged to use multi-use water bottles instead of disposable water bottles, and to recycle whenever possible. A competitor shall not intentionally put trash in the water. See RRS 47.

#### **14. Further Information**

14.1. For further information please contact the FWBC Office or the Race Committee. 14.2. The FWBC office phone number is (817) 236-8393.

# Appendix A

Schedule Of Races & Principle Race Officer Assignments

	Roadie Series	
Race #	Date	PRO
1	February 16	Mike Schwinn
2	February 23	Glenn Darden
3	March 2	Danny Bullard
4 and 5	March 9	Michael Younger
6 and 7	March 16	Rick Schaffer
8 and 9	March 23	Mike Schwinn

	Hub Isaack Series	
Race #	Date	PRO
1 and 2	March 30	Philip Williamson
3 and 4	April 13	Matt Arno
5 and 6	May 4	Dwight Horton
7 and 8	May 18	Mark W Smith
9 and 10	June 1	Marc Nilsson

	Rolling Time Series	
Race #	Date	PRO
1	June 7	Matt Talton
2	June 14	Mike Schwinn
3	June 21	Jim Mitchell
4	June 28	Martin Peacey
5	July 12	Ben Robbins

	PAKI Series	
Race #	Date	PRO
1 and 2	September 7	Edwin Youngblood
3 and 4	September 14	Conner Fullerton
5 and 6	September 28	Jonathan Witt
7 and 8	October 5	Jim Edenfield
9 and 10	October 19	Michael Winfrey
11 and 12	October 26	Jason Dyer

	Blue Moon Series	
Race #	Date	PRO
1	November 2	Wendy Vann Roach
2	November 9	Dwight Horton
3	November 16	Board of Governors
4	December 7	Matt Arno
5	December 14	2026 Race Chair